Angel

Easy come
Easy go
I got a pocket full
Of shiny copper pennies for throwing ’round
I pushed
She fell
Oh, down the wishing well
And there’s a bad storm fast approaching now
Straight down
Through the dark
Wish upon that spark
Wish upon that bright star falling down
Claws out
Teeth bared
I’ve never seen you scared
But I can hear the danger calling you out
Luring you away
To dance upon swords
To be stupid and brave
To fight the whole world
And I will remain
Tied up in knots by your silver chains
Awaiting the next moment of pure light
To shine on me as you go racing by
A falling star in the darkest night
A glowing spark in the blackest sky
My only wish for you to spread your wings and fly
So goodbye
Goodbye
You were never meant to land in my back yard
You were always meant to fly until you fell too hard
And I’ll cry
When you die
And wish upon the spark that was your life
Cuz you shone so bright

Published in: on September 29, 2009 at 8:31 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://asleeponmyfeet.wordpress.com/2009/09/29/angel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

