All I Ever Desired

There’s a light in the sky
I avoid sleeping without understanding why
When the moon’s full I cry
It has been such a long time since I said goodbye

Howling over this corpse
Clutching the rod in my hand I attempt to force
My mind into the horse
I have beaten it dead knowing full well it’s yours

Still I feel incomplete
This persistent vision refuses to retreat
It is guiding my feet
Towards self destruction, why must I walk this street?

I have done nothing wrong
I have made every effort to become strong
But this path is so long
I paused to rest and fell down, I can’t carry on

My love, promise you’re near
I’m sinking into the ground to be gnawed by fear
There is so much pain here
A feast for my demons to last a thousand years

Every torturous bite
Loosens a piece of the wall I have built so high
There’s a flood to the sky
Waiting to drown me the moment my vigil dies

Moon reflects in the lake
I don’t know how much more of this grief I can take
When the dam finally breaks
I’m afraid my entire life will be washed away

I become slowly mired
A moment of rest is all I ever desired
I am always so tired
A moment of rest is all I ever desired

Published in: on October 3, 2009 at 7:30 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://asleeponmyfeet.wordpress.com/2009/10/03/all-i-ever-desired/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. woahhh…what a poem…its amazing…the pain creeped inside and litrally made me shiver…loved it to core…the pain u reflected in the poem was very well evident…gr8 job…

  2. Good One…especially “My love, promise you’re near
    I’m sinking into the ground to be gnawed by fear
    There is so much pain here” had so much to say.

  3. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

  4. A very nice Topic. Thanks alot hope you go for the detail next time!


Leave a Reply

