Spontaneous

I found a blank page
Abandoned in the lab
At first I didn’t know
Exactly what I had
But I sat down to write
The words began to flow
And I was writing a poem
Before you even know
Now I’m nine lines into it, baby
And pretty soon, nine lines will turn to ten
Eleven turns to twelve, honey
And then to a dozen again
Yeah, before you know it
Twelve is twenty-four
All because I found
This blank page on the floor
Now I’m back on my feet
And I’m walking the beat
I got the urge to take it, baby
Yeah, out on the street
But it’s freezing out there
And the wind snaps your hair
And that’s why I’m wearing, mm
My looooong underwear
Cuz I’m twenty-five lines into it, baby
And pretty soon it’ll be twenty-five below
Said I’m twenty-seven lines into it, sugar
And I’d rather be in here with you than out in the snow

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://asleeponmyfeet.wordpress.com/2009/10/20/spontaneous/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

