Island Fortress

All of my life
I’ve been an island shining a light
To guide the stray ships through storms to my side
They come and they go and on the loneliest nights
A whispered prayer like a bird taking flight
Leaps from my heart and I know that in time
You’ll sail to me

I am a fortress alone on the hill
You climb my walls while I stay very still
Afraid you’ll see me without my hard shell
But I must admit your courage and your skill
Disarm my defenses and with no conflict of will
I allow you to explore inside me until
I fall in love

I want you to know
All of my life I have been like a ghost
Walking through walls with no one to walk through my own
I was so certain until you came along
I’d walk forever and take my last breath alone
But you resurrect me – now all that is done
I’m coming home

Published in: on October 21, 2009 at 9:00 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://asleeponmyfeet.wordpress.com/2009/10/21/island-fortress/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

