Tripping Over Sleeping Lovers

Stranger on the riverbank
Walk the rolling waves
Blowing wind and make-believe
Wash it all away

Hunter on the soft hillside
Turn your eyes within
Tattoo of a predator
Belies your victim skin

Beggar of the offered nest
Hungry for a gem
Stacking golden towers up
Just to scatter them

Archer on the bridge between
Aiming for the sun
Trajectory of tragedy
Wake up, Fool, and run

Published in: on August 21, 2009 at 1:13 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://asleeponmyfeet.wordpress.com/2009/08/21/tripping-over-sleeping-lovers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. this makes me want to read more of your work…..

    • Be sure to check back, then! I intend to update this blog daily, if inspiration strikes. And when inspiration doesn’t strike, I have close to 500 poems I’ve written over the last 10 years… quite a lot of it is worth sharing, or so I’ve been told, so it’s bound to end up here.
      Thank you for reading! :)

  2. Nice poem and formatting!

    Here’s how to make the active links for comments:

    LINKING MADE SIMPLE, at SIMPLY SNICKERS

  3. Very beautiful…I’m glad you re-posted this one so we could read it! Thanks for sharing.

  4. There’s a marvellous sense of mystery in this. Excellently done.

  5. I love this – especially “Trajectory of tragedy” . I had to say it aloud. The whole thing reads beautifully.


Leave a comment