Throwing Pennies In The Well

Fumbling my way through a handful of change
Dropping lusterless coins again and again
Down near the bottom, arrestingly shiny
Sun-glare from silver threatens to blind me
Head-on collision
Split-second decision
Turn tail and run!
Is it fusion or fission?

Published in: on September 3, 2009 at 8:02 pm  Comments (12)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://asleeponmyfeet.wordpress.com/2009/09/03/throwing-pennies-in-the-well/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s an intriguing poem. loved the ending.

  2. Nicely done.
    “Head-on collision
    Split-second decision”
    The rhyming scheme here just caught me.

    ~Harsha

  3. I really like writing that makes you think, and this does. Thanks.

  4. Enjoyed this one.

  5. Very good – thanks for sharing.

    -SoC

  6. Nicely done. I like how it’s straightforward, but still open for interpretation.

    • Thanks to all who took the time to read and comment!

      To Ann: One of the things I enjoy most about poetry is the way you can take a concrete idea, some specific thing that you want to write about, and obscure it with imagery and metaphor and strange word choices to create something emotional that is open to a wide variety of interpretations.

  7. I’m glad I saw your comment in response to Ann’s comment… opened up the poem for me a little more, and I liked it better. It is clean in its meter and rhyme, clever in its words, and quite complete in the metaphor it makes for me. Wonderful work!

  8. Like that!

    it was not a dream, certainly not a memory

  9. I enjoyed that!

  10. Neatly done! Blended abstract and reality makes it so strong!


Leave a comment